OCT 9, 2020–JAN 31, 2021


The 2020 Rockford Midwestern is the 76th presentation of the museum’s juried survey exhibition of new work by contemporary artists from across the Midwest. Original artwork in any medium created since 2018 by artists living in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and Wisconsin were eligible. Artist awards include Best of Show and two Juror’s Choice awards—as well as the 2020 Dean Alan Olson Purchase Award, given to the artist whose work has been selected for inclusion in the Rockford Art Museum Permanent Collection.

The Rockford Midwestern Biennial is organized by Carrie Johnson and juried by Jim Dempsey; the exhibition and related educational programming are sponsored by the Dean Alan Olson Foundation and Women’s Art Board, and partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.